How Many ITIL Processes Are There?

by Avinash V

Information Technology Infrastructure Library (ITIL) framework consists of a set of best practices of IT service management (ITSM) encompassing 26 processes and four functions.

How Many ITIL Processes Are There

These processes and procedures are organized into five core publications, each addressing specific aspects of IT service management.

1.Service Strategy (SS): This publication focuses on IT services' high-level strategy and planning. It includes processes such as:

  • Service Portfolio Management
  • Financial Management for IT Services
  • Business Relationship Management

2.Service Design (SD): Service Design involves designing new or modified services and ensuring they meet the organization's needs. Processes within this phase include:

  • Service Catalog Management
  • Service Level Management
  • Capacity Management
  • Availability Management
  • IT Service Continuity Management
  • Information Security Management
  • Supplier Management

3.Service Transition (ST): This phase involves transitioning services from design to operational status. It includes processes such as:

  • Transition Planning and Support
  • Change Management
  • Service Asset and Configuration Management
  • Release and Deployment Management
  • Knowledge Management

4.Service Operation (SO): Service Operation manages services in the live environment. Processes in this phase include:

  • Event Management
  • Incident Management
  • Problem Management
  • Request Fulfillment
  • Access Management

5.Continual Service Improvement (CSI): CSI focuses on improving services and processes continuously. It includes the CSI process itself, as well as other processes that support improvement efforts, such as:

  • 7-Step Improvement Process
  • Service Measurement and Reporting
  • Service Level Management

In addition to these processes, ITIL also defines four functions that provide a structure for organizing people and their skills:

  • Service Desk: Responsible for handling incidents and service requests and being a single point of contact for users.
  • Technical Management: Focuses on managing the technical infrastructure that supports the IT services.
  • Application Management: Deals with managing applications throughout their lifecycle.
  • IT Operations Management: Handles the day-to-day operational activities needed to manage the IT environment.

Please note that ITIL is periodically updated and revised; new versions may change the processes and functions described above.