Difference Between ITIL And ITIL 4

by Avinash V

The distinction between ITIL and ITIL 4 lies in their scope, approach, and alignment with modern IT practices. While both are frameworks designed to enhance IT service management, ITIL 4 represents a significant evolution from its predecessor, ITIL.

Difference Between ITIL And ITIL 4

Scope and Structure

ITIL: The earlier versions of ITIL, such as ITIL v3, were organized around a lifecycle approach with five core publications. Each publication covered a specific stage, from service strategy to continual service improvement.

ITIL 4: ITIL 4 introduces a new framework structured around the Service Value System (SVS). It encompasses four dimensions (organizations and people, information and technology, partners and suppliers, value streams and processes) and a Service Value Chain that outlines key activities for creating and delivering value.

Alignment with Modern Practices

ITIL: Previous ITIL versions were developed when IT service management practices were primarily centered around traditional IT service delivery models.

ITIL 4: ITIL 4 acknowledges the evolving landscape of IT and aligns with modern practices such as Agile, DevOps, and Lean. It embraces a more holistic and flexible approach to service management, encouraging collaboration, rapid value delivery, and continuous improvement.

Concept of Value

ITIL: ITIL emphasized the importance of delivering value to customers. However, the definition and realization of value should have been more explicitly highlighted.

ITIL 4: ITIL 4 emphasizes the concept of value, defining it as the outcome that the customer achieves by using a service. It highlights the co-creation of value between service providers and customers.

Service Value Chain

ITIL 4: One of the notable additions in ITIL 4 is the Service Value Chain (SVC). This concept outlines interconnected activities organizations can follow to create, deliver, and continually improve services. The SVC promotes a more dynamic and collaborative approach to service delivery.

Guiding Principles

ITIL: While ITIL provided best practices, it did not explicitly outline guiding principles for decision-making.

ITIL 4: ITIL 4 introduces seven guiding principles that are the foundation for adopting and adapting the framework. These principles offer a set of universal guidelines for making effective decisions and shaping service management practices.

Certification Structure

ITIL: The certification structure for previous versions of ITIL included Foundation, Intermediate, Expert, and Master levels.

ITIL 4: ITIL 4 introduces a streamlined certification path with Foundation, Specialist, Strategist, Leader, and Master levels. This new structure aligns with the updated framework and allows professionals to specialize in specific areas.

ITIL 4 represents a significant shift from previous versions of ITIL. It embraces a more holistic, collaborative, and adaptable approach to service management, aligning with modern practices and technologies. Introducing concepts like the Service Value System, Service Value Chain, and guiding principles makes ITIL 4 a versatile and comprehensive framework that empowers organizations to deliver value-driven IT services in today's dynamic business landscape.