What is ITIL Certified?

by Rahulprasad Hurkadli

ITIL, or Information Technology Infrastructure Library, is a set of best practices for managing IT services. ITIL certification demonstrates knowledge in IT service management. The framework focuses on delivering value, efficiency, and quality of service.

ITIL certification levels


There are levels of certification: Foundation, Intermediate, Expert, and Master. Exams cover topics like service strategy and continual service improvement.

 ITSM Templates

The benefits of becoming ITIL certified

  • Enhanced Knowledge and Skills: ITIL certification provides a comprehensive understanding of IT service management best practices, processes, and terminology. It equips individuals with the knowledge and skills necessary to effectively manage IT services and align them with business objectives.
  • Improved Career Prospects: ITIL certification is widely recognized and sought after by companies across various industries, making it a valuable addition to your resume. It demonstrates your commitment to continuous learning and professional development, leading to increased job opportunities and potential salary growth.
  • Increased Efficiency and Productivity: By implementing ITIL practices, organizations can improve their service delivery processes, streamline workflows, and enhance overall efficiency and productivity. ITIL certified professionals play a crucial role in driving these improvements and ensuring optimal performance.
  • Better Customer Satisfaction: ITIL focuses on delivering high-quality, customer-centric IT services. By adopting ITIL practices, organizations can better understand and meet customer needs, leading to increased satisfaction levels. ITIL certification enables professionals to contribute to delivering exceptional customer experiences and fostering long-term customer relationships.
  • Stronger Business-IT Alignment: ITIL emphasizes the alignment of IT services with business objectives. By becoming ITIL certified, professionals gain the expertise to bridge the gap between IT and business departments, ensuring that IT services support and enable the achievement of organizational goals.

Understanding the ITIL certification levels

  • Foundation Level: This is the entry-level certification that provides a basic understanding of the key concepts, terminologies, and elements of ITIL. It covers the core principles and practices of IT service management.
  • Practitioner Level: This level focuses on applying ITIL concepts in real-world scenarios. It equips professionals with practical skills to adopt and adapt ITIL guidance within organizations. The Practitioner level provides more depth and insight into how to effectively implement and manage IT service management processes.
  • Intermediate Level: The Intermediate level is divided into two categories: Service Lifecycle and Service Capability. Service Lifecycle modules focus on the different phases of the ITIL service lifecycle, such as Service Strategy, Service Design, Service Transition, Service Operation, and Continual Service Improvement. Service Capability modules concentrate on specific ITIL processes, such as Operational Support and Analysis, Release, Control and Validation, Planning, Protection and Optimization, and Service Offerings and Agreements.
  • Expert Level: The Expert level signifies a high level of understanding and knowledge in ITIL. It requires a minimum of 17 credits from the Foundation and Intermediate levels. To achieve Expert certification, candidates must complete a Managing Across the Lifecycle (MALC) module. It demonstrates the ability to integrate ITIL practices across the IT service lifecycle.

How to become ITIL certified

  • Understand ITIL: Familiarize yourself with the ITIL framework and its key concepts, processes, and terminology. This will help you understand the principles behind ITIL and its practical application in service management.
  • Choose the appropriate certification level: Determine which ITIL certification level is most suitable for your career goals and experience. ITIL certification is divided into five levels: Foundation, Practitioner, Intermediate, Expert, and Master.
  • Prepare for the exam: Enroll in an accredited ITIL training course or self-study program. These resources will help you gain a comprehensive understanding of ITIL and prepare you for the certification exam. Study the official ITIL books, attend training classes, and take practice exams to assess your knowledge and areas needing improvement.
  • Register for the exam: Once you feel confident in your knowledge and preparedness for the exam, register for the ITIL certification exam. You can book the exam through an accredited examination institute or training provider.

There are several career opportunities for ITIL certified professionals. Some of them include:

  • IT Service Manager: ITIL certification provides the required knowledge and skills to manage IT services efficiently. IT service managers are responsible for planning, implementing, and managing IT services in organizations.
  • IT Operations Manager: ITIL certified professionals can work as IT operations managers, who are responsible for overseeing the day-to-day operations of an organization's IT infrastructure. They ensure that IT operations are running smoothly, and any issues are addressed promptly.
  • IT Project Manager: ITIL certification can be beneficial for professionals working as IT project managers. They can use ITIL principles to incorporate IT service management practices into their project management framework, ensuring the successful delivery of IT projects.
  • IT Consultant: ITIL certified professionals can work as IT consultants, providing guidance and advice to organizations on implementing IT service management best practices. They assist in improving IT service delivery and efficiency.
ITIL certification

How ITIL certification can enhance your organization's IT service management

  • Common language and framework: ITIL provides a common language and framework for IT service management, ensuring that everyone in the organization understands and follows the same set of processes and practices. This improves communication and collaboration across teams and departments.
  • Best practices: ITIL certification equips individuals with knowledge of industry best practices for IT service management. By implementing these best practices, organizations can improve the efficiency and effectiveness of their IT services, leading to better customer satisfaction and business outcomes.
  • Process improvement: ITIL emphasizes the concept of continual service improvement (CSI), which involves regularly assessing and improving IT services and processes based on feedback and data. ITIL certified professionals are skilled in implementing CSI practices, allowing organizations to continuously optimize their IT service management processes for better performance.
  • Service alignment with business objectives: ITIL helps align IT services with the organization's overall business objectives. By understanding and mapping IT services to business processes, organizations can ensure that IT resources are utilized effectively, supporting the achievement of business goals.


ITIL is a widely recognized framework for IT service management. Obtaining a certification can boost career opportunities and earning potential. It sets individuals apart in the job market and demonstrates expertise in IT service management.

With continuous updates, ITIL certification allows professionals to stay relevant and valuable in their field. Overall, it is a worthwhile investment for career advancement in the IT industry.

ITSM Templates